Religious Education

September 12th, 2018

Welcome to the RE Department

This subject is a part of the curriculum for all students in every year. At Harrow Way, the Hampshire County Council based National Curriculum Syllabus Living Difference is followed. Parents need to be aware, however, of their right to withdraw their children from the subject and if they wish to do so, should contact the Headteacher in writing, so that suitable alternative arrangements can be made. It is not the purpose of the teaching in this subject to indoctrinate the views of any one faith, but to provide a framework within which to study the major aspects of what is implied in any faith. Students are shown how this can be worked out in practice, giving students the opportunity to develop and test their own beliefs against these standards, and to study moral and ethical questions in the light of a variety of faiths.

As clearly laid down by National Curriculum Criteria, Christianity has to occupy a central place within this teaching. In addition, students will be introduced in some depth to Judaism, Islam, Hinduism and Buddhism. As students progress through KS3 they will also be introduced to Social and Moral issues.

Video Prospectus – RE Department

Curriculum Content
The following topics will be taught at Key Stage 3:

Year 7 Year 8 Year 9
War Horse (animal rights), What is belief? Is Islam a Religion of Peace? Issues of Life and Death
Inspirational People Buddhism; what is right and wrong? Issues of Life and Death
The Trinity Freedom and genocide Issues of Good and Evil
Sacred Was Israel a reward for the Holocaust? Issues of Good and Evil
What does it mean to be human? Issues of Human Rights
Philosophical Concepts

Religious Education will also form a part of the curriculum for all students in Years 9, 10 and 11 and will take the form of study blocks, resulting in students studying Religious Education for 10 lessons.

A GCSE Full Course option to study Philosophy and Ethics and Religious Education to examination level in Years 9, 10 and 11 is offered through Eduqas. This new Edugas GCSE Religious Studies specification includes the following units:
Religious, Philosophical and Ethical Studies in the Modern World:

  • Theme 1: Issues of Relationships
  • Theme 2: Issues of Life and Death
  • Theme 3: Issues of Good and Evil
  • Theme 4: Issues of Human Rights
  • The study of Christianity
  • The study of Islam
Comments are closed.