Harrow Way Community School recognised its Class of 2021 stars recently at the highly celebrated annual Presentation Evening. Although a scaled back event to previous years the school applauded the 2021 prize winners, recognising academic endeavour and success, in what had once again been a challenging year. Former students were joined by their families and teachers as the school showcased their outstanding results and successes.

Giving a warm welcome to his former Year 11 students, Headteacher Michael Serridge said: “Welcoming this cohort back to Harrow Way makes me feel incredibly proud. You did not have an easy year, indeed with two lockdowns and remote learning you had what can only be described as a very challenging year. Yet you all coped amazingly well. Not only did you deal with these challenges admirably you went on to achieve outstanding academic success with brilliant GCSE results. Myself and the entire teaching and support team here at Harrow Way, could not be prouder of you.”

Special guest for the evening was Max Barnett, a former Harrow Way student now successful photographer and art director. Unfortunately, Max was unable to make the evening having caught Covid. He did however provide an incredible video detailing his career progression from his days at Harrow Way to now successfully working as an Art Director for luxury department store and online retailer, Selfridges. Imparting some words of advice to the students he said: “Try to enjoy your ride. If interested in something and you want to pursue a career in it, you just need to stick at it. That’s the most simple way of looking at it. Perseverance is key.“

A very special part of the evening is the trophy presentation, with this year’s awards and trophies going to:

Harrow Way Communications Trophy – presented to Tarik Kirgin
For outstanding contribution to ICT.

Harrow Way Cup – presented to Sophie Cole
To the best all-rounder.

Harrow Way Shield – presented to Jordan Clifford
For outstanding personal achievement.

Harrow Way Trophy – presented to Stephanie Figeuirdo
For always being your best.

The Burbidge Shield – presented to Grace Davis
For community spirit.

Office Depot Maths and Computing Shield – presented to Ethan Pettitt
For excellence in Maths and Computing.

The Alice Razza Award – presented to Matthew Thomas
For courage and determination.

Anne King Shield– presented to Caitlin Pittman
To the highest academic achiever.

The Chris Overton Shield– presented to Matthew Neilson
For Performing Arts.

The Darling Cup – presented to Shaun Scratchley
For contribution to Music

The Harrow Way English Award – presented to Isabella Rai
For excellence in English and English Literature.

The Le Creuset Cup– presented to Freya Willman
For outstanding performance in Catering.

The Mark Warren Shield – presented to Caitlin Pittman
For the highest achiever in a Modern Foreign Language.

The Partner West Africa Award – presented to Isabella Taylor
For exemplifying Harrow Way values

The Rob Hudson Cup – presented to Sky Hull
For outstanding contribution to PE and school sport.

The Veale/Scicluna Shield – presented to Amelia Owen
For excellence in English and Media.

The Will Dyke Cup – presented to Madeline Cox
For exceptional contribution to the school life.

Presentations to the Head Boy and Head Girl – presented to Tarik Kirgin and Madeline Cox.