DSC05006Thursday 10th March saw sixteen teams (about 160 footballers!) from schools across Andover, arrive at Harrow Way Community School for their annual tournament. For the second year running, Year 2 students from Sparsholt College had organised the event with the support of their tutor, Sam Vokes, and Harrow Way SSCo, Rhonda Sturges.

Portway Junior (five teams), Anton Junior (three teams), Balksbury Junior (two teams), Vigo Junior (two teams) Knights Enham Junior, Andover CE, Rookwood and St Johns Primary Schools were welcomed by the Sparsholt students and Harrow Way Year 10 Sports Leaders, Tom Longshaw, Jordan Compton and Luke Bourner.

Josh Barnett, an ex Harrow Way student, welcomed everyone, highlighting enjoyment, team work and respect as very important aspects of the day. He also introduced Cathy Devereux from Lions in the Community, who kindly provided and supported the referees. Year 1 Sparsholt students and Winton Sports Leaders, Joe Carter and Jamie Rawcliffe, also supported the officiating.

Twenty four group games were played before all teams gathered round the score table to find out which competition they had gone through to. The Cup for teams who were in first or second place in their group, or the Plate for those teams in third or fourth place. All teams enjoyed having the opportunity to play another game and compete for a piece of silverware!

Exciting and high quality quarter finals and semi finals, (with some matches going down to one versus one!) culminated in two brilliant finals. Anton A scored three good goals to beat Portway Blue in the Cup final with Anton also going home winners by beating Portway Red by one goal in the Plate final.

All sixteen teams are to be congratulated on their high level of ability, enthusiasm, fair play and team work. They should all be very proud of their achievements!

On behalf of the Sparsholt students and Harrow Way Community School, we would like to thank everyone who supported the competition, including players, teachers, coaches, parents and leaders. We look forward to welcoming you back next year!