DSC02288History was made on Friday 12th February in Harrow Way’s Sports Hall. The first ever Year 3 and 4 Indoor Athletics Competition was held! The six teams taking part from Roman Way Primary, Kimpton CE Primary and Portway Junior Schools were all very excited and pleased to be part of this inaugural event, as were the twenty five students from Harrow Way. These students had arrived earlier in the day, on their day off, to learn how to lead and score all eight jumping and throwing events, as well as turn the Sports Hall into an exciting competition venue.

DSC02264Harrow Way’s Silver Young Ambassadors, Alice Longshaw and Jonathan Akehurst, welcomed the forty eight competitors before being presented with their new T-shirts. They then led a fun warm up before sending the teams off with their Harrow Way Leaders to their starting activity.

DSC02280Following excellent organisation and time keeping by Jon during the jumping (triple, long, vertical and speed bounce) and throwing (javelins, basketballs, netballs and bean bags) stations, the races started! What fun and what noise! Sports leaders were on hand again to help and ensured impressive baton changing and turning on the reversaboards, while Miss Escritt kindly stepped in to help judge the very close races. It was all so much fun the Sports Leaders decided to finish off with their own race! This gave time for our expert on the score table, Martyn, to add up the points and allocate final positions.

Mr Currie, headteacher of Harrow Way, congratulated all the children on their efforts and thanked the Sports Leaders, teachers and parents for making the afternoon so special. Sportsmanship prizes of a ‘Sport Unlimited’ bag were presented to individuals from each school with Roman Way receiving the Team award. All teams received a certificate from Jon and Alice, with the winning Portway team receiving the ‘Harrow Way Cluster’ shield from Mr Currie.

DSC02322Miss Sturges, School Sport Coordinator, ended the afternoon with a particular thank you to the Harrow Way Leaders who had been a joy to work with. ‘Thank you for making today such an excellent day for a lot of young people. It has been great fun and you have all been stars!’

The Leaders were:
Year 10: Alice Longshaw, Jonathan Akehurst, Charlotte Knights, Cathy Murray, Gavin Brewer, Lynsey Grover, Catherine Pearson and Jess Allmark.
Year 9: Ella Howells, Lydia Moulding, Owen Trapnell, Hallam Doney, Tom Longshaw, Lili McLean, Ellie Roche, Matthew Pugh, Catherine Upfold
Year 8: Abby Wheeler, Brendan Harris, Chantelle Gleed and Tyler Pierce.
Year 7: Callum Bendall, Martyn Craggs, Mark Todd and Chloe Gleed.