DSC02103Twenty three young people from across all years at Harrow Way Community School gave up their recent day off to lead the Harrow Way Cluster Year 5 and 6 Indoor Athletics Competition.

Following a morning’s work with Donna Smith, Mountbatten School Sports Partnership Multi Skills Coordinator, the Young Leaders were ready to rise to the afternoon’s challenge of leading and officiating the many Portway Junior and Roman Way Primary School children.

DSC02119A keen group of Year 5 and 6 children arrived ready for the competition and were welcomed enthusiastically. Following an excellent warm up led by Donna, every child set off to their starting event: triple jump, long jump, speed bounce, vertical jump, target throw, javelin, chest push and overhead throw. Through excellent efforts by all the Year 5 and 6 children and impressive leadership, great results were recorded with each child able to score points for their team at each event.

Next up were the races, Sportshall Athletics style, with Nick Woodford of Andover Athletics Club on hand to help judge. Individual races and relays ensured everyone got a turn. All the children agreed they had had a great time – the loud cheering and smiles said it all!

A special thank you to James Redstone and Miss Cullem for the challenging job of recording the scores and calculating totals – calculators were definitely needed!

Chris and Frances Lynn, deputy Mayor and Mayoress of Test Valley, presented all the children with their certificates and the winners, Portway Red, with their medals. Donna also presented her special ‘Sportsperson’ prize of a Sport Unlimited bag to Tyrese from Portway Junior School.

DSC02120Following the event, the deputy Mayor and Mayoress spoke to the Harrow Way students congratulating them on what they had achieved and thanking them for encouraging the younger children with their sport.

Donna Smith said, “Thank you to the Harrow Way Leaders for a brilliant day. You were superb!” Miss Sturges would also like to say, “Well done and thank you!” to all the following students, who were all fantastic!

Year 10: Jon Akehurst (Young Ambassador), Gavin Brewer, Joe Lucy, Danny Tuson, Steph Jackson, Cathy Murray, Catherine Pearson, Lynsey Grover and Steph Boulton

Year 9: Elesha Redstone

Year 8: Abby Wheeler, Chelsey Renshaw, Jordan Simcox, Tyler Hiscock, Allen Garrett, Brendan Harris, Chantelle Gleed, Sophie Chilcott and Maddie Loftus

Year 7: Mark Todd, Martyn Craggs and Chloe Gleed